Hux Law and attorney W. Derek Hux offers legal services to the good folks of Callaway County and all of central Missouri. Hux Law’s office in downtown Fulton is: 401 Court Street, Fulton, Missouri, 65251
Representation does not begin until you have signed a Representation Agreement and made an initial deposit.
Always consult an attorney for advice regarding your specific individual situation. The choice of a lawyer is an important decision and should not be based solely upon advertising.
Missouri’s new criminal code went into effect on January 1, 2017.
An updated page will be posted here soon.
– NOTE –
How much jail time am I facing for a felony or misdemeanor in Missouri?
By W. Derek Hux - Missouri criminal defense lawyer
So you got arrested – How do you figure out how much jail time you might have to serve or how much of a fine you might have to pay? By looking at the classification of the offense, you can see what Missouri has authorized as punishments. RSMo 557 sets forth the classification of criminal laws and the maximum punishments allowed by law.
Missouri criminal laws are categorized into the following categories, from most serious to least:
Felonies (A, B, C, D)
Misdemeanors (A, B, C)
The maximum penalties are as follows: (along with some example crimes)
Felony A = death, life imprisonment, 10-30 years in prison (murder 1st degree, robbery 1st degree)
Felony B = 5-15 years in prison (voluntary manslaughter, robbery 2nd degree, burglary 1st degree)
Felony C = up to 7 years in prison, up to $5000 fine (involuntary manslaughter, assault 2nd degree)
Felony D = up to 4 years in prison, fine up to twice the amount of offender’s gain up to $20,000 (passing bad checks, most types of fraud)
Misdemeanor A = up to 1 year in jail, up to $1000 fine (bad checks under $500, assault 3rd degree)
Misdemeanor B = up to 6 months in jail, up to $500 fine (DWI first offense, trespass 1st degree)
Misdemeanor C = up to 15 days in jail, up to $300 fine (speeding, most traffic offenses)
Infraction = up to $200 fine (violating city ordinance, jaywalking)
In Missouri, every criminal charge has the potential for serious consequences. While most defendants do not receive the maximum punishment allowed by law – you should be aware of the range of punishment available to the Judge, and your appearance in Court must not to be taken lightly.
I highly recommend you speak to an attorney about the particulars of your case. If you want to fight the charge and go to trial, having an attorney speaking for you is your best chance of success. If you want to plead guilty, an attorney on your side can explore the possibilities of a beneficial plea agreement. Don’t try to do this on your own, there is too much risk.
Derek Hux Hux Law 573-642-7784
[Last updated 3.15.15 - originally posted 12.4.12]